The Saskatchewan Songwriter Challenge


On May 3-5, 2019 and July 14, 2019, SaskMusic produced its fifth CCMIA Bell Media Canadian Songwriter Challenge. This year we maintained a similar structure as last year, and offered three different opportunities for songwriters to take part. On May 3-5, nine participants were selected by jury to participate in a weekend of learning, co-writing and recording with producer Ryan Andersen at the Recording Arts Institute of Saskatoon. We offered a workshop with Re:Sound (open to all SaskMusic Members) on Saturday, May 4 and opened that up to our general SaskMusic who could register to attend in-person or via webinar.

Participants (2019)


  • Lyn Besse McGinnis
  • Brady Frank
  • Matthew Hutchings
  • Shantaia Poulin
  • Doug Sylvester
  • Jen Lane
  • Lyzanne Foth
  • Jake White
  • Brock Fehr
  • Jeannette Perault
  • Annora Bourgeault
  • Rhonda Gallant-Morari
  • Wendy Crawford
  • Ava Janzen
  • Tom Kennedy
  • Dave Grandel
  • Shelley Neumeier
  • Jesse Weiman
  • Emily Orescanin
  • Forrest Eaglespeaker
  • Glenn Sutter


  • Begonia
  • Belle Plaine

Songs Recorded at Challenge (2019)

Gallery (2019)