An Ontario Songwriter Challenge


The fifth annual Ontario edition of the Canadian Songwriter Challenge, in partnership with the Canadian Council of Music Industry Associations (CCMIA) and Bell Media, took place over three days at Dream House collective in Toronto, ON. The Challenge invited emerging songwriters from across who identify as indigenous to apply for consideration, with all genres welcome. Applications were reviewed by an independent Talent Committee that MusicOntario struck for this opportunity, comprised of Indigenous-identifying music industry professionals and artists to determine which artists would go on to participate with three expert mentors. Dream House Studios provided professional sound engineers for each studio to ensure all technical needs were met.

Participants (2019)

Mentors and Business Leaders:

  • Adrian Eccleston
  • Julian Taylor
  • Adaline
  • Tomi Swick


  • Mya Gomez
  • Thea May
  • Troy Junker
  • Andrea Bastien
  • Chris Earl
  • Ellie Partridge
  • Jayli Wolf
  • Evan Redsky
  • James Wilson
  • Mary Bryton

Gallery (2019)

Playlist of Recorded SongsĀ from Challenge (2019)